Service Area

service area mapCentral Basin Municipal Water District serves a population of 1.6 million people living within 24 cities in southeast Los Angeles County as well as unincorporated County areas. We do so by partnering with 40 retail water providers and one water wholesaler. Central Basin's 227 square-mile service area is governed by five publicly elected directors. Voters in each of the five divisions elect one director to serve a four-year term.

District headquarters is located at 6252 Telegraph Road, Commerce, CA 90040-2512; telephone (323) 201-5500; fax (323) 201-5550.

Please visit the California Special Districts Association for an online map of the independent special districts in California.

Division Boundaries

Division I: 

Bell Gardens, Downey, Montebello, Pico Rivera, West Whittier-Los Nietos, and unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County 

Division II:

La Habra Heights, La Mirada, Norwalk, Santa Fe Springs, Whittier and South Whittier 

Division III:

Bell, Commerce, Cudahy, Huntington Park, Maywood, Walnut Park, Vernon, portions of Monterey Park, and unincorporated areas of East Los Angeles. 

Division IV:

Lynwood, South Gate, Florence-Graham, Willowbrook, and portions of Compton and Carson

Division V:

Artesia, Bellflower, Cerritos, Hawaiian Gardens, Lakewood, Paramount and Signal Hill  


Municipal Service Review (MSR) and Sphere of Influence (SOI)

The Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is required to review services for all agencies and special districts within Los Angeles County whose boundaries are within LAFCO's jurisdiction. For more information, please visit: